What type of classroom training is required to get a license to carry?
An applicant has the choice to attend a Texas License to Carry (LTC) classroom training session and demonstrate handgun proficiency (shooting ability) with a Texas Qualified LTC Instructor, OR
Applicant may receive LTC online training (classroom only) through an Approved Online Course provider. After, successfully passing the online classroom session, the applicant must attend 1-2 hours of range instruction class and demonstrate safe handgun proficiency (shooting) with a Texas Qualified LTC Instructor.
NOTE: A student can complete the online classroom portion prior to range instruction and proficiency (shooting) qualification.
Topics covered during an LTC class?
There are four (4) statutory requirements that must be covered in an online/person classroom environment that may last from four to six hours.
- Handgun use and safety, which includes use of restraint holsters and proper methods to ensure the safe/secure methods of openly carried handguns.
- Current laws that relate to firearms and the use of deadly force.
- Proper storage practices for handguns emphasizing on practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.
- NON-Violent dispute resolution.
You may locate an approved Online Course Provider (here) or Texas Qualified LTC Instructor (here). Material related to safe storage of handguns may be found (here).
What documents will I receive for completing the LTC classroom or handgun proficiency (shooting) training?
If you successfully complete the online classroom only with an approved Online Course provider, your Online Course provider will provide you with an Online/Handgun Proficiency Training form LTC-101. Then you must take the LTC-101 form to a Qualified LTC Approved Instructor to complete the handgun proficiency range training. We will help you find a Qualified LTC Approved Instructor (here), OR
If you choose to complete the in-person classroom and range handgun proficiency training all together with a Qualified LTC Instructor, your instructor will provide you with a Certificate of Training for LTC-100.
Most students choose the online classroom due to busy schedules and convience. In either case, once all training has been successfully completed, you will upload the LTC-100 or LTC-101 to the Texas Department of Public Safety (here).
How much do training classes cost?
Cost varies for either in person or online classroom sessions. The Texas Department of Public Safety does not regulate the cost for certified LTC providers.
Will I need to have a gun before beginning my training sessions?
It depends on the instructor you choose. Some instructors may require you to use your own handgun during the range proficiency (shooting) session, however, other instructors may provide the handgun and/or ammunition. Consult with a Qualified Instructor prior to your commitment.
Are there requirements to take continuing education classes before someone renews their current LTC?
It is the complete responsibility of the LTC license holder to remain informed and knowledgeable of new laws and regulations, BUT
There currently is no continuing education or other training required to renew an LTC license holder at this time. Holders will apply online and submit any supporting documents and pay fees needed to continue the holder’s license (here).
How long is a Texas LTC license valid?
Initial Texas licenses are valid for 4-year terms. Renewal licenses are valid for 5 years. The license will remain valid as long as the holder continues to meet all current (at renewal date) eligible criteria.
How do I apply for a Texas License?
You May apply online at Texas Department of Public Safety – Regulatory Services Division (here).
Where can I get electronic fingerprint?
All fingerprints must be submitted using a L-1 enrollment services. You might try IDENTIGO (here).