Sitemap for Republic of Texas Firearms Academy

Texas License to Carry (LTC) Questions and Answers

Benefits of obtaining an LTC can be reviewed on the LTC Benefits.

  • Laws that relate to firearms and the use of deadly force.

  • Non-violent dispute resolutions
  • How to properly store handgun firearms with an emphasis on safe storage practices that will help eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.
  • Handgun safety and use to include methods to ensure the carrying of openly carried firearms.
  • Four (4) statutory required topics are covered. 

Depending your status:

  1. Constitution Carry – here
  2. Online License to Carry permit (LTC phase 1) – here
  3. Refresher class – here

Some instructors may require you to use your own firearm during the proficiency shooting portion (phase 2). Some proficiency trainers may provide the gun and/or ammunition. Consult with a certified DPS instructor to determine their requirements for the shooting qualifications. We can help you with this search Contact Us Now – LTC Online Class. 

An applicant may attend a LTC classroom enviroment training and demostrate proficiency shooting with a Texas Qualified LTC Instructor, or


An applicant may obtain LTC online training (classroom only) through an Approved Online Course Provider (here). After, successfully passing the online classroom portion, the applicant must attend 1-2 hours of range instruction class and demonstrate handgun proficiency shooting with a Texas Qualified LTC Instructor. 

Your Texas concealed hangun license (permit) doesn’t allow you to carry a handgun in another state, UNLESS that state recognizes Texas license permits. It is best to contact the state you plan to visit to find out if it recognizes Texas LTC permit. See the attached link to help your research – here.

NO ! It is best to take the class until your 21st birthday so your proficiency certificate is current. DPS suggests turning in your certificate at 21 yrs of age.

The License to Carry law sets has specific eligibility requirements.

A number of factors may make you ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions, some misdemeanor convictions including, charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses protective or restraining orders, and defaults on state or city taxes, governmental fee and/or child support. 

You may need to submit completed required supplemental forms and materials. These may include: two recent color passports, electronic fingerprints (using L-1 Enrollment Services), a copy of your Texas driver’s license or identification card and proof of class completion (phase 1) & shooting proficiency (phase 2). 

After receiving completed, application packets, the Department of Public Safety will conduct extensive background checks of juvenile records for the previous 10 years along with all adult records.

Your application process is taken very serious by the State of Texas

The charge will vary from service to service. You may want to inquire with IndentoGO or PrintScan. We are not affiliated with either of these services. 

YES!  Consider the professionals at “Right to Bear Insurance“. They provide superior protection at an affordable annual premium for the (LTC) License to Carry individual. (see video here)

Once you have submitted your application, The Department of Public Safety will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days of receiving the completed application packet. If the application is incomplete or requires additional information to complete the background check, you will be notified in the manner you selected on your application.

A background check for a Texas LTC involves a state and FBI Criminal History check. This thorough investigation examines your criminal record on both state and federal levels to determine your eligibility for a license.

To get a license to carry a handgun in Texas, you need to submit an online application form on the DPS website. You also need to provide proper documentation, schedule a fingerprint appointment, and pay a fee. You can take the required training online (classroom only) or in person. The license allows you to have a concealed gun on your person if used in accordance with the current law.